AAAS Names Nine from University of Arizona to Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elevated nine of its members from the University of Arizona to the distinction of Fellow. The association, or AAAS, named 531 Fellows this year, an award bestowed by their peers.

The list is published in the current issue of the AAAS journal Science. The 161-year-old association is the world's largest general scientific society. Its mission is to advance science and serve society through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education and more.

Those from the UA's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences who were named Fellows are: Steven R. Archer, professor of natural resources, for novel integration of ecological, remote sensing and earth science theory to advance the conservation and management of the world's grassland and savanna ecosystems. David D. Breshears, professor of natural resources, for distinguished contributions in dryland ecology related to ecohydrology, wind and water erosion, vegetation gradients and especially drought-induced tree mortality as related to global change. Bruce E. Tabashnik, professor and department head in entomology, for distinguished contributions to entomology, especially understanding the evolution and management of insect resistance to insecticides and transgenic plants.

Contact name: 
Steven R. Archer, David D. Breshears, Bruce E. Tabashnik
Released date: 
Dec 23 2009